250g
Grind not specified
Blend · Central Province, Murang’a County, Rwatha subregion, Kangema Division, Kangema (inferred)
Broad groups used to organize sensory descriptions. They help compare impressions without promising identical perceptions or claiming that those ingredients were added.
Aromas reminiscent of flowers, such as jasmine or rose. A sensory comparison, not an ingredient claim.
A citrus-fruit impression, such as lemon, orange, or grapefruit. A sensory comparison, not an ingredient claim.
Fruit impressions reminiscent of peach, apricot, plum, or cherry. A sensory comparison, not an ingredient claim.
A berry-like impression, such as blueberry, strawberry, or raspberry. A sensory comparison, not an ingredient claim.
Impressions of dried fruit, such as raisins or prunes. A sensory comparison, not an ingredient claim.
A washed Kenyan coffee from Kayu Coffee Factory in Central Province, produced from SL-28, SL-34, Ruiru 11, and Batian varieties. The coffee is described with raspberry, date, rose, hawthorn, currant, black raspberry, lemon-lime, floral, and stone-fruit notes.
The roaster’s comparisons for the coffee’s aroma and flavor. A note such as peach or chocolate is a sensory description, not an ingredient claim. Perception varies with preparation, temperature, and the person tasting.
Some details were inferred from the roaster's listing: Countries, FlavorFamilies, HarvestSeason, Producers, Regions, Summary, TastingNotes.
Coffee details
The countries and regions where the coffee grew. A region is a more local geographic description within an origin. Place names offer context but do not prove a particular flavor or identify a cultivar.
The coffee fruit is removed before the seeds dry. Remaining sticky fruit material is removed through fermentation and washing or mechanical methods. “Washed” describes preparation, not a higher cleanliness or quality grade.
Typical taste: Often bright and clearly defined, with noticeable acidity and a lighter body.
Results also depend on growing conditions, roasting, and brewing.
The listing does not establish a roast level. Do not infer it from a tasting note or a recommended brewing method.
This detail is not available in the roaster’s listing.
A combination of coffees selected by the roaster. Components may come from different farms, origins, or harvests and may change over time. A blend can be designed for a consistent sensory target.
Named types or selections of coffee plants. Plant identity is separate from origin and processing. A broad species name does not identify a specific cultivar.
Ways to buy
Grind not specified
Grind not specified
Grind not specified
Price and availability were last checked at the time shown. The roaster's website is the final source of truth.
Price history
The first observation establishes a baseline. After that, a new entry is recorded only when a variant's price or availability changes.
| Date | Variant | Price | Availability |
|---|---|---|---|
| 250g | $26.50 | Sold out | |
| 2lb | $90 | Sold out | |
| 5lb | $190 | Sold out |
Catalog provenance
We last checked this listing on September 21, 2026. First discovery records when we found a coffee; it is not a release date. The roaster's website is the final source of truth.
A Bourbon-related selection developed at Scott Agricultural Laboratories in Kenya. It is well known for cup-quality potential and drought tolerance. SL28 and SL34 are separate cultivars; the similar names do not make their plant genetics or every cup interchangeable.
A Kenyan selection from Scott Agricultural Laboratories. Genetic work places it in the Typica-related group despite older stories connecting it to Bourbon. Its identity and reputation do not guarantee one particular sensory profile across farms, harvests, and roasts.
A compact Kenyan composite hybrid combining multiple parent lines. It was developed to help growers reduce losses from coffee diseases. Its complex ancestry describes the plants, rather than saying that the bag contains a blend of separate coffees.
A Kenyan variety developed from several coffee lineages and released in 2010. It was bred to combine productive trees with resistance to coffee diseases. The name identifies the plant, not a processing style or a guaranteed flavor.
The available listing does not establish whether the coffee is decaffeinated. Missing information should not be treated as either decaf or regular coffee.
This detail is not available in the roaster’s listing.
The person, family, cooperative, or organization credited with producing the coffee. This label does not provide a biography or establish who performed every production step.
The farm where coffee grew, or a station that processes harvested cherries. One station can handle fruit from multiple growers.
This detail is not available in the roaster’s listing.
When the coffee cherries were picked, rather than when the beans were roasted. A listed season can span calendar years; missing dates should not be guessed.
Variety: Blend
One-time purchase · 12 OZ / Whole Bean
$18 / 340 g
$5.29 / 100 g
Colombia (inferred)
Fresno, Tolima (inferred)
Anaerobic Natural processLight roastUnavailable
Variety: Yellow Caturra
One-time purchase · Regular
$38.40
United States (inferred)
Carpinteria, Santa Barbara County, California (inferred)
Washed processLight roast (inferred)Unavailable
Variety: Gesha (inferred)
One-time purchase · Regular
$46